Banana Bread

Posted on

Banana Bread

   I don’t know about you but I am always forgetting about the bananas I buy from the grocery store. Then when I remember, they look brown and unappetizing. I used to throw them away and would feel guilty about wasting food, but now I don’t let those bananas go to waste!

I make BANANA BREAD!! It’s just the peel that’s brown and now they are at the perfect “mush” stage for banana bread! This is my favorite recipe. I actually found the initial recipe on simplyrecipes.com but tweaked the ingredients. Here is Nicole’s Healthy Banana Bread! (John approved!)

Ingredients

  • 3-4 smashed bananas 
  • 1/3 cup melted “I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter”
  • 1/4 cup baking Stevia
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar (If you use 1 cup Stevia, you can decrease calories by ~54 and sugar by ~15g [per serving])
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of unbleached whole wheat baking flour

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Mix butter and mashed bananas in mixing bowl
  • Mix in Stevia, brown sugar, egg and vanilla
  • Sprinkle baking soda and salt in bowl
  • Mix in flour last
  • Pour mixture into butter or greased (I use PAM) loaf pan
  • Bake for 1 hour (time may vary by oven. My oven bakes extremely fast, so my bread can be down in 40 minutes.)

Nutrient Facts

  • Servings:~10
  • 170 Calories per serving
  • 30 g Carbs
  • 3 g Fat
  • 2.7 g Protein
  • 46 mg Sodium
  • 18 g Sugar

“A Brown Banana is never a Bad Banana!” Don’t let your food go to waste, because all you’re doing is throwing hard earned money in the garbage.

Happy Cooking All!

❤ Nicole

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Bananas for Children « Ask the Doctor and be Healthy

  2. Pingback: You’re Either A Baker Or You’re Not | Cook Book Grow Go

  3. Pingback: A very simple bread | Diary of Calories

Leave a comment